A deep dive into Facebook’s privacy today

by | Aug 23, 2019

This week we take an in-depth look into what privacy looks like for Facebook. First, we will explore what user data Facebook is collecting. Then, we will look at how Facebook is invading users’ privacy… again. Finally, we will discuss the new privacy scam directed at Facebook.

See and control what Facebook collects from you

Last year, Facebook announced their upcoming release of a tool to ‘clear history’ and delete data that third-party websites and apps share with the social media giant. Fast-forward to today, the company has kept its word and has released the tool in Ireland, South Korea, and Spain. 

The tool, known as ‘Off-Facebook Activity’, allows you to see and control what information has been collected about you by apps and websites and sent to Facebook. It will show you information about your online activities, the questions you search on Google and your online shopping history. However, while it has the option to disconnect the data, it cannot delete it.

If you choose to clear your activity, Facebook will simply remove your identifying information from the data and unlink it to your account. It will not delete the data (Source).

This is the first step in the right direction, as this is the first time Facebook has allowed users to control or even see this information.

Facebook’s voice transcripts more invasive

Facebook has been transcribing users’ audio clips for quality control and to improve the accuracy of their services. Unlike Alexa or Google Home workers listening to user recordings, Facebook’s audio does not come from users giving smart assistants commands but from human-to-human communication. Bloomberg reported that Facebook contractors were kept in the dark with regards to where the audio came from and why these audio clips needed to be transcribed. 

While Google, Apple, and Facebook have temporarily suspended human audio reviews, Amazon has chosen to let its users opt-out (Source).

Another Facebook privacy scam, and this time it’s not Facebook’s fault

People have been reposting and resharing a viral message, that explicitly notifies Facebook of their rights as users.

“Don’t forget tomorrow starts the new Facebook rule where they can use your photos. Don’t forget Deadline today!!! It can be used in court cases in litigation against you. Everything you’ve ever posted becomes public from today Even messages that have been deleted or the photos not allowed. It costs nothing for a simple copy and paste, better safe than sorry. Channel 13 News talked about the change in Facebook’s privacy policy. I do not give Facebook or any entities associated with Facebook permission to use my pictures, information, messages or posts, both past and future. With this statement, I give notice to Facebook it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, or take any other action against me based on this profile and/or its contents. The content of this profile is private and confidential information. The violation of privacy can be punished by law (UCC 1-308- 1 1 308-103 and the Rome Statute. NOTE: Facebook is now a public entity. All members must post a note like this. If you prefer, you can copy and paste this version. If you do not publish a statement at least once it will be tacitly allowing the use of your photos, as well as the information contained in the profile status updates. FACEBOOK DOES NOT HAVE MY PERMISSION TO SHARE PHOTOS OR MESSAGES.”

It is not real, it is a scam, and there are several reasons why:

1. The message is written poorly with no attention to capitalization and grammar.

2. There is no way you can end up in court by using social media.

3. Facebook does not own your content, there are several discrepancies. 

4. Posting a statement on your Facebook timeline that is contrary to Facebook’s privacy terms has no legal effect nor does it change Facebook’s privacy policies (Source).

However, if you are still wary about your privacy being at risk, take some measures to be safer. Change your privacy controls. Don’t post content that you don’t want being shared. Or, simply cancel your account for the best protection guaranteed. 

 

Join our newsletter